School of Rock – Day 7 – Planning and Pathways

SUMMARY

Write your daily summary last, at the end of the day here… Only one to two sentences.

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Holistic Songwriting by Friedemann Findeisen

An Example: The Swift Formula – One Note Melodies

I was really interested by the Radiohead video they did, I really liked how they explained everything.

How interested in learning more about music theory and song analysis?

  • 1 (YUCK!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES!)

Your score: 5

PRACTICE ROOM (GUITAR LESSONS)

 Powerful advice from 10 Professional Musicians you need to hear 

Start his 117 Free Lessons YouTube Playlist

 justinguitar.com.

I learned about two chords(D and A) and what works best for playing it. I also learned how to play faster, I can’t yet but I know now what steps to take.

How interested in learning more about playing the guitar?

  • 1 (YUCK!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES!)

Your score: 5

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

Watch Jane McGonigal: The game that can give you 10 extra years of life.  (20 minutes)

Go for a walk and think about what this video meant to you.

Journal here about that. The more detail the better!

How interested in these topics about the brain, creativity, and productivity?

  • 1 (YUCK!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES!)

Your score: ?

STUDIO (SONGWRITING)

Do THIS with every song you write | Hit Song Architect S1E3

I learned that almost every song has the same structure.

How interested in songwriting, song structure, and music production?

  • 1 (YUCK!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES!)

Your score: 3

CONTROL ROOM (RECORDING & MIXING)

Soundtrap tutorial 5 – Arranging the song, Mixing and adding effects

all five videos in the playlist.

I didn’t know that you could loop your audios before this video so I really love that I found out about this so it makes less work in a way.

How interested in recording, engineering (sound effects, EQ), and mixing?

  • 1 (YUCK!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES!)

Your score: 5

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

Tell your daily story here!  Highlight what you learned and enjoyed most and at least one problem you solved. Problem-solving is one of the most important skills you need in life. Employers want to know HOW you get stuff done as much as WHAT you got done.

TODAY’s ACTIVITY EVALUATION

Content (The WHAT)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 5

Most of the activities really intrigued me and were something I knew about or heard about that I enjoyed.

Process (The HOW)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 4

The activity that engaged me the most was analyzing other people’s music and how the chords progress and what their style is.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *