School of Rock – Day 6 – Bass Basics

SUMMARY

If you want to learn how bass incorporates into music, this is the blog for you!

CLASSROOM

Notes:

  • Bass line is the foundation
  • Long held bass notes caught on
  • They used to not use bass
  • Tonality- what makes music different
  • Bass had a big impact
  • Mostly melody up, bass down
  • Root is often used at the bass line
  • Bass lines help carry the song

LAB

Step 1: Watch How to write Chromatic Notes in Hookpad (some bass lines are based on chromatic scale)

Step 2: Watch 3 ways to use Hookpad’s MIDI drag-drop feature (you can create basslines and more and export to Soundtrap and other DAW – digital audio workstations)

Step 3: Try making a bassline to a chord progress or melody line.How was this activity?

This activity was okay, I really enjoyed learning more about the chromatic scale in HookLab. I did struggle with exporting the MIDI file because legit nothing was going right.

PRACTICE ROOM

Step 1: How To Add Bass Notes

Step 2: guitar TABS for his exercise 

Step 3: Practice one of the exercises

These exercises were really enjoyable and somewhat easy to catch onto. The first exercise was really cool and not too hard.

Profile in Excellence

Screenshot from Polyphonic at YouTube

Profile in Excellence

Image from Wikipedia

OUTSIDE / JOURNAL / IDEAS

When walking I was thinking about how bass really is in everything and really carries the song. I realize that out of everything in a song, bass is one of my favorite parts. Bass is really unique in a song and it’s amazing.

STUDIO

I tried to think of possible bass lines to do from songs I listen to and I tried to find it by ear.

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

I learned a lot about bass and I got a better understanding of bass. I did struggle with some of the guitar exercises but eventually I got a hold of it.

ACTIVITY EVALUATION

Content (The WHAT)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 5

I just really was intrigued by how the bass fits into everything.

Process (The HOW)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 4

The activities that engaged me most were the guitar exercises and getting to experiment with creating bass lines.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *