School of Rock – Day 5 – Rhythm Basics

SUMMARY

If you’re interested in finding out about how drums, rhythm, and tempo work, this is the blog for you!

CLASSROOM

Watch How Rhythm Works (47 minutes)

  • Rhythm is independent
  • Without Rhythm, there is no music
  • Rhythm is complex and addicting
  • Tempo depends on us
  • Tempo is present in all music
  • Hiding tempo can help sometimes
  • Subdivision, Accent, Pulse, and tempo
  • Double time, triple time is the offspring
  • You can change where the accent falls
  • Syncopation-musical slide of hand, makes it sound human

LAB

Drum Arrangements Made Simple 

Arranging Drums in Hookpad

Advanced Drum Arrangements in Hookpad.

By doing this activity I learned how to add drums and change the style of the drums in Hookpad.

PRACTICE ROOM

Mike Palmisano 

Funklet 

I struggled with managing the strumming pattern and the drum playing in the background. But once I slowed down the BPM it got a bit more manageable.

A Side Note

OUTSIDE / JOURNAL / IDEAS

Quizlet on Rhythm Terminology flashcards

Image Metric levels from the Wikimedia Commons

I walk at about 96 BPM. The BPM of one of my favorite songs, Deeply by Bôa, is 176 BPM. And honestly, I don’t have a favorite BPM but it’d probably be maybe around 100 BPM.

I often notice that when listening to music or just even walking, sometimes I’ll start tapping along to the tempo. It may just be because I’m a choir kid and a former band kid but I find it really interesting that I do that.

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

Some problems I ran into were with strumming and having the drum play at the same time but to fix that I slowed down the BPM because I’m still very new to the guitar and trying to get used to it. I also learned how to calculate BPM, I always knew how to keep the tempo and count the beats and such but never how to calculate BPM.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *