School of Rock – Day 4 – Harmony Basics

SUMMARY

Today I learned more about chords and harmony. As well as triads and experimenting with them.

CLASSROOM

Watch How Harmony Works (47 minutes)

  • Harmony came to life later
  • Harmony seems mystical because of how it sounds
  • Drones are used to sing with
  • Chord progressions are key in harmony
  • 12 major separate triads
  • 12 minor triads
  • Major and minor are different in mood
  • Discord is purposely playing notes that collide
  • 7th chord

LAB

I learned to change the chords that I can chose from, I can find different chords rather than the default ones.

PRACTICE ROOM

OUTSIDE / JOURNAL / IDEAS

Go for a walk and think about the Tonic (1 chord) and the Dominant (5 chord) and how they create push and pull, tension and release in composition.

  • Tonic (1 and 8 chords)
    • Root note creates a feeling of resolution and stability 
  • Supertonic, Mediant, Submediant (2, 3, 6 chords)
    • Moderate tension, useful for transitions 
  • Dominant, Subdominant, Leading Tone (4, 5, 7 chords)
    • Create lots of tension to get to the tonic 

(Key of C Major Notes and Chords Chart) 

STUDIO

Watch this informative video by Jake Lizzio. Experiment with notes on your guitar and try playing along with him. If you cannot do this play just the C note or chord every time he plays it.

CONTROL ROOM

Tune your guitar. Try recording two tracks of guitar.  One with the single notes like Jake Lizzio showed you above and a second with the lower C bass notes to make a simple progression. Remember two notes playing at the same time is harmonyKeep it simple.  Refer to your Quizlet Guitar Strings / Notes Flashcards if you need help remembering the guitar notes on the first three frets. Set a timer. Stop playing before you feel like Chewbacca below.

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

I was struggling with the chords on Hook Pad but once I started clicking around I found how to get other chords for it. I also enjoyed getting to experiment with it because the other day I didn’t really know what to create but today I did.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *