School of Rock – Day 15 – Celebration and Reflection

SUMMARY

This summer, I was in School of Rock, which is a music summer program. I learned a lot about both music and myself. This class has helped me in a lot of areas and I’m glad I took it.

Composition Elements

I learned how to be a better composer. I learned some tips for writing songs like writing down random ideas.

How interested were you in learning composition elements?

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 5

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

I learned about how songs were broken down. I learned more on how people create the songs they do.

How interested were you in learning about music theory and song analysis?

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 4

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

I learned more about creating music and working with music theory in HookLab.

How interested were you in learning about HookLab and HookTab?

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 4

PRACTICE ROOM (GUITAR LESSONS)

I learned more about how to play guitar. I enjoyed learning chords and trying exercises suggested.

How interested were you in learning to play the guitar?

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 5

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

I liked getting to go outside and taking a break. I also got to learn about myself.

How interested were you in learning about topics related to the brain, creativity, and productivity?

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 5

STUDIO (SONGWRITING)

I enjoyed getting to song write and learned more about how to song write better.

How interested were you in learning about songwriting, song structure, and music production?

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 5

CONTROL ROOM (RECORDING & MIXING)

I learned about controlling and mixing. I liked experimenting with engineering.

How interested were you in learning about recording, engineering (sound effects, EQ), and mixing?

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 5

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

Overall I learned so much in this class. I learned how to play some guitar and I also improved on my piano skills and knowledge. I learned about more resources I could use like SoundTrap and such. And I learned more about myself and my brain. I ran into problems like things not going right like with my project but I found a solution which was choosing a different approach. I really enjoyed this class and being able to expand my knowledge on music.

THE COURSE’s ACTIVITY EVALUATION (OVERALL)

Content (The WHAT)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 5

The thing that interested me in this class was that I was introduced to a variety of resources I hadn’t even heard of.

Process (The HOW)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 5

I liked being able to go my own path in a way. I liked having control of what rooms I focused on and such. I also like how it was structured but had room for independence as well. Overall it was a good class and I enjoyed being in it.

If I took this class again I think the only thing I would change is the lengths of some of the videos. Sometimes they are too long, so yes a break in between is helpful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *