School of Rock – Day 2 – Basics and Foundations

SUMMARY

Overall, we focused on how scales and chords work. And worked with Hook Theory and Sound Trap.

CLASSROOM

Notes:

-Music Theory- the language behind music

-Higher vibrations= high pitch, Lower Vibrations= Low Pitch

-Whole Whole Half Whole Whole Whole Half(Major Scale)

-Number the notes

-Chords set the emotion of the song

-Triad Chords

-4 Half Steps 3 Half Steps = Major

-3 Half Steps 4 Half Steps = Minor

-Major minor minor Major Major minor

-1564 Chord order

-6 Chords in a Key

-Inversions= when you change the note to a higher octave

-Using notes outside the chord makes it more interesting

-Remove 4 and 7 to get a pentatonic scale

Overall Thoughts on the Video:

This video helped me better understand chords and how they work.

LAB

Nobody by Mitski- G Mixolydian

First Love/Late Spring by Mitski- C Major

Duvet by Boa- B Minor and G Major

Evelyn Evelyn by Evelyn Evelyn- G Minor

PRACTICE ROOM

N/A

CONTROL ROOM

Get to Know the Studio

Explore the Regions

Explore Tracks

Overall it worked out for me, I liked how I could change the notes if I messed up while recording. And changing how it sounded worked well.

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

I enjoyed getting to mess around with Sound Trap and explore. One problem I had was with Hook Theory, it wasn’t playing the song so I had to actually open the Hook Pad thing so I could actually listen to it. But I also could mess around with how it sounded which was fun. I also enjoyed getting to play the guitar with others. It was really enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *